Archive | Summer League Reports

This post category is for match reports for Summer League matches. In the future, it will be updated automatically with match results after they are entered into the database by team captains.

Summer League: Provisional fixtures/Comps available

We’ve published a provisional Section Fixtures and final (!) Competition Fixtures list on the website so you can plan your matches. We have some minor changes in the comps on the main league sheet (so use the separate comp fixture list) but the printers will be producing the final A3 sheets and the new scorecards this week and we’ll get the packs to your venues as soon as we can. This year’s sponsor is Dyno heating and plumbing and you’ll have a special surprise in your fixture packs!


Note we have a new Dolly Recorder this year in Vic Pratt and it’s his address on the new scorecards so please make sure you use them (they have a Wantage address).

SECRETARIES: if you’ve not logged in to make sure your credentials are still valid to enter scorecards please do so and contact us if you have problems so we don’t get a rush in the first week ! You can make sure you can reset your own passwords by ensuring you have a valid email address on your profile – that way you can use the password reset function. Thanks!





Summer League : Secretaries check your entries!

As the Winter League draws to a close with their Finals and Presentation Night on Wednesday this week at Abingdon United FC we have been busy in the background getting all your players registered online for the Summer League (Thanks Vic). 

So now is the time for your Secretary to check your players and their spelling. Just go to the results page  and search for your team name (use Ctrl+F and type your name to find it).  Check your team tallies with your Registration Form and email webmaster if you find errors.

We have the fixture lists being prepared by the printers and these will be with your venues soon. As soon as we have the final PDF version it’ll be posted on the website.

Don’t forget…..

You know it’s good when you hear the wood! 


Kit and Players Wanted

Dan Sheridan, son of the multiple singles champion Martin Sheridan is building a pitch at The Ladygrove pub in Ladygrove Didcot. 

He’s after players and kit to help him establish the pitch and team there. 

If you have any swivels, irons, dolls, scoreboards or sticks please get in touch by private message through the Abingdon Aunt-Sally facebook page or by emailing to pass on your details. 


Summer League : Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2017 Minutes

The AGM was opened at 8pm by Chairman James Barguss. 

Minutes of the last AGM were accepted as a true record. See

Team registration showed 13 teams represented.

Abingdon RBL A, Fox Denchworth B, Spread Eagle, Bell Grove, Fox Denchworth A, Old Anchor B, Tandem, Plum Pudding, College Oak, Packhorse, Hart Harwell, Ab Legion B, Ab Utd A.

Continue Reading →


Summer League Committee – URGENT Call For Action AGM

At the AGM this year (30th Jan 7:30pm @ Ab.Utd FC) we will also be seeing several Committee members stand down. Last year we had the Secretary Graham Brown and Trophy Curator Terry Downes step away after 38 and 28 years service respectively on the Committee. That caused a near crisis when no-one came forward to take on the responsibilities of running the League and the League nearly folded. An extended AGM was called to allow some volunteers to step forward.

Continue Reading →


Summer 2016 – Presentation Night Photos, Videos and Thanks

We now have the photos taken by Ellen Downes (Plum Pudding Terry Downes’ daughter) uploaded for your enjoyment along with the videos of the matches on Aunt Sally TV!

Presentation Night was made possible by the help of many people including the Committee but also

  • Brian Clapton (venue and trophy setup) along with Geoff Lee and Paul Stone,
  • Terry Downes, Reg Couch and Paul Stone for tracking down trophies,
  • Terry Downes & Paul Stone for trophy selection,
  • Reg Couch for tankard selection for Mssrs Brown and Downes,
  • Engraving collation by Paul Stone,
  • Ellen Downes for photos, Paul Stone for videos,
  • Sue Woolloff & Sharon Stone for running the raffle,
  • Scott Humphries and Becky Lyford for getting the prizes,
  • James Barguss and John Simmons for master of ceremonies,
  • Geoff Lee, Scott Humphries, Becky Lyford & Harry(!) for doorman duties.
  • Programmes were prepared and printed by Paul Stone.
  • AllSports Trophies for the trophies and donated raffle prize.
  • Trophy handout by our sponsor Matthew Tutty, Plumbing and Heating.


Many thanks to all who helped, attended, bought raffle tickets and made the night what it was.

Paul Stone